ANZOS & Breakthrough Discoveries 2018 Joint ConferenceOctober 16 - 18, 2018 Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre

Prof Joel Elmquist

Dr. Elmquist is the Carl H. Westcott Distinguished Chair in Medical Research, Professor of Internal Medicine, Pharmacology, and Psychiatry, and the Maclin Family Professor in Medical Science at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.
He is the founding Director of the Hypothalamic Research Center at the Southwestern Medical School, Dr. Elmquist recruited a group of faculty investigators working to understand brain pathways controlling body weight and metabolism.  He currently serves on the editorial boards of several major scientific journals. He has served on numerous NIH study sections and is currently a member of the NIDDK Advisory Council. 
In 2008, The Endocrine Society announced him as the recipient of the Ernest Oppenheimer Award.  In 2014, Dr. Elmquist was the recipient of the Stange Award from Iowa State University. In 2014, he was chosen by the American Diabetes Association as the recipient of the Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award supported by Eli Lilly and Company. In 2014, Dr. Elmquist received the Mentor of the Year Award from the National Postdoctoral Association given in recognition of exceptional mentoring or postdoctoral scholars.